Annual Achievement Award

The Canadian Heart Failure Society (CHFS) Annual Achievement Award was created in 2016 to recognize a member who has made significant contributions to the academic, research, or clinical scopes of heart failure.

A call for nominations will go out to all CHFS members annually with a closing date of early-May.

Eligibility Criteria

  1. Although the recipient is usually expected to be a member of the CHFS, if nominated, exceptions can be considered at the discretion of the Nominations and Awards Committee.
  2. Particular consideration will be given to contributions towards advancement of heart failure issues in Canada.

Selection Criteria

Nominations must include (and will be judged by) the following: 

  1. two letters of recommendation from CHFS members in good standing to support each nomination; and 
  2. a 1-2-page Biography of the nominee.

Award Prize

The award will be presented at the CHFS Annual General Meeting. The winner will receive an honorary crystal award.  



Annual Achievement Award Recipients

2022    Serge Lepage (Sherbrooke, QC)
2021    Karen Harkness (Toronto, ON)
2020    Estrellita Estrella-Holder (Winnipeg, MB)
2019    Heather Ross (Toronto, ON)
2018    Jean Rouleau (Montréal, QC)
2017    Peter Liu (Ottawa, ON)
2016    J. Malcolm O. Arnold (London, ON)